YOU ARE NOT ALONE.

To the Parent in Tesco I was staring at whilst your child was having ‘a moment’, I was not judging you with my staring, I was quite simply feeling your distress, for just minutes before I too was standing in the large supermarket with a toddler who had just had the most almighty tantrum whilst everyone stared. You are not alone.

To the Parent who looks on many instagram accounts and see’s nothing put perfection and calm. Let me reassure that these photos are just moments captured. The camera does not show the previous dilemma about the wrong episode of Paw Patrol being chosen. You are not alone, I too have asked myself many a time whether it’s just me not keeping it together.

To the Parent who is worrying about her childs minor illness and feels she is overreacting. You are not alone. I too have worried over the smallest things. Its what we do, it’s what we’re supposed to do.

To the Parent whose house hasn’t been tidied for a week or two, and feels like they aren’t juggling life well. You are not alone. My house is so very often upside down and I simply cannot be bothered to do anything about it.

To the Parent whose washing pile is getting so behind it may take you a week of continuous loads. You are not alone. Mine is practically ceiling height.

To the Parent who is awake at 3am feeding feeling as though tomorrow simply wont happen. You are not alone. I too will be awake with you, maybe not in the same house, county or even country, but I can tell you, not only us but many other parents will be too.

To the Parent whose child wont eat anything but biscuits and chocolates. You are not alone. I can promise you it will not last forever, I can promise you that it will not kill them for this short phase.

To the Parent whose toddler point blank refuses bed time on the day you really need some time alone before you yourself head to bed. You are not alone. I have also been sat on the stairs for hours, listening to my toddler list all reasons why he shouldn’t sleep (in baby language).

To the Parent who feels they haven’t played with their child enough that day. You are not alone. Tomorrow is a new day, it wont harm them for today, just take a break.

To the Parent who forgot to bring the wipes/nappy whilst on an outing and of course the child has been to the loo. You are not alone. I have done this many a times, it doesn’t matter, & it doesn’t mean you’re a bad parent.

To the Parent who has snapped at their child when it was unwarranted. You are not alone. You are only human, these things will happen, it doesn’t make you a bad parent, tomorrow is a new day, and it might be better, but equally it might be worse. Do not beat yourself up, move on and tell yourself it’s ok to have a blip.

There are so many moments in a parents life where they feel unsure of what to do, feel as though they are being judged for the way they parent, or feel just very alone in a situation. The next time you see a parent looking a bit lost or losing it at a situation, please do not judge them. I know it can seem like they are being  bad parent, but you never know what kind of day that person has had, sometimes a parent just needs to know that they are not alone, and are not being judged.

 

Chloe x

1 thought on “YOU ARE NOT ALONE.”

Leave a Reply

